Sorting of eigenvectors

General forum for EasySpin: questions, how to's, etc.
NoahP

Sorting of eigenvectors

Post by NoahP »

Hello everybody,

I'm new to using EasySpin and am a little lost at the moment. I'm trying to pick out certain states after I run sham on sys('S', [1 1], ...) to construct the singlet state, and then calculate the projections of each state onto it. This is to calculate coefficients for singlet fission, as some of the states of the triplet pair have singlet character and the projections increase/decrease with B field. Without coupling between the spins 'J' I can pretty much figure the states out by looking at them at 0 field, but I don't see that easily with a J and B field.
Is there a way to sort the eigenvectors of sham so that they are in an order like |11>, |10>, |1-1>, |01>, .... ?

Hope someone can help
Stefan Stoll
EasySpin Creator

Re: Sorting of eigenvectors

Post by Stefan Stoll »

The basis states are in this order, but the eigenstates might not be. In the general case, it's impossible to predict what character e.g. the lowest eigenstates will have without diagonalizing the Hamiltonian.

If you use eig, the eigenstates are sorted by increasing energy, and the eigenvectors are sorted the same way. You can look at the eigenvectors to figure out what character they have. Each column in the eigenvector matrix is one eigenvector, each row corresponds to one of the basis states, in the order you mentioned.

Here is an example:

Code: Select all

Sys.S = [1 1];
Sys.J = 1000;
H = sham(Sys,[0;0;350]);
[V,E] = eig(H);
NoahP

Post by NoahP »

Thank you Stefan,