esfit giving flatline

General forum for EasySpin: questions, how to's, etc.
Post Reply
furayyu
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 7:32 pm

esfit giving flatline

Post by furayyu »

Hi, I recently switched from a Mac running
El Capitan MATLAB R2015b EasySpin 5.2.21
to a linux running on
Centos 6.10 MATLAB R2018b EasySpin 5.2.24.

I copied my old scripts and code to the new workstation and was testing them.
When using esfit (with garlic), the simulation spectrum is always a flatline in the GUI.
esfit_window.png
esfit_window.png (134.25 KiB) Viewed 1154 times
Garlic alone works fine (see below image), and typing 'easyspin' in the command windows doesn't give any warnings.
garlic_overlay.png
garlic_overlay.png (55.51 KiB) Viewed 1154 times
Has anyone encountered this problem before?
Not sure how to proceed now, should I try recompiling EasySpin or something?
I've also attached my code and test file for reference below.

Code: Select all

%load spectrum
[B,spc,Param]=eprload();

%read-in experiment parameters
Exp.mwFreq=Param.MWFQ/10^9;
Exp.Range = [Param.XMIN/10 (Param.XMIN+Param.XWID)/10];
Exp.nPoints = Param.XPTS;

%setup initial guess
Sys.g = 2.002;
Sys.Nucs = '1H,1H,1H,14N,14N,B';
Sys.A = [mt2mhz(9.18/10,Sys.g) mt2mhz(2.18/10,Sys.g) mt2mhz(1.44/10,Sys.g) mt2mhz(3.60/10,Sys.g) mt2mhz(4.08/10,Sys.g) mt2mhz(5.61/10,Sys.g)];%1H,1H,14N,14N, B
Sys.n = [1 1 1 1 1 1];
Sys.lwpp = [0.11 0.024];

%setup vary range
Vary.g = 0.001;
Vary.A = [1 1 0 0 0 0];
Vary.lwpp = [0.1 0.1];

%fit
esfit('garlic',spc,Sys,Vary,Exp);
Attachments
test_data.DTA
(7.81 KiB) Downloaded 124 times
jchen3
User
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 9:29 pm

Re: esfit giving flatline

Post by jchen3 »

Yes, I had the same issue with PC when updating from 5.2.12 to the latest version. I downgrade it back to previous version and had no problem. Hope someone can explain this.
furayyu
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 7:32 pm

Re: esfit giving flatline

Post by furayyu »

jchen3 wrote:Yes, I had the same issue with PC when updating from 5.2.12 to the latest version. I downgrade it back to previous version and had no problem. Hope someone can explain this.
Can confirm that copying my old folder of 5.2.21 to the new workstation solves this problem. Wonder if anyone got the esfit GUI working in the newest version (5.2.24)?
Stefan Stoll
EasySpin Creator
Posts: 1059
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:11 pm
Location: University of Washington

Re: esfit giving flatline

Post by Stefan Stoll »

This is a bug. We are looking into it and will post a fix as soon as we have one. Thanks for reporting!
Stefan Stoll
EasySpin Creator
Posts: 1059
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:11 pm
Location: University of Washington

Re: esfit giving flatline

Post by Stefan Stoll »

The bug is now fixed in version 5.2.25.
jchen3
User
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 9:29 pm

Re: esfit giving flatline

Post by jchen3 »

Stefan Stoll wrote:The bug is now fixed in version 5.2.25.
Thank you Stefan, I updated to this version and this issue was gone.
Post Reply