Dstrain relation to D

General forum for EasySpin: questions, how to's, etc.
thanasis
Local Expert

Dstrain relation to D

Post by thanasis »

I am studying a series of similar S = 3/2 systems with varying D parameters. The |D| values can vary from ~0 to 0.11 cm-1, so X-band is very good to measure them. The signals are very clear throughout the entire temperature range from 4 to 300 K in the solid state.

My problem is choosing a model for line broadenings. Simple Gaussian or Lorentzian broadenings do not give very good results and I found that Dstrain can give very good agreements with the data. However, I can get quite large broadenings. They can vary from 30-40% of D for larger D's, up to ~100% of D for the more isotropic systems.

Based on the definition of Dstrain, does it have constrains based on the value of D? Or since D can vary from -|D| to |D| we can have a significant Dstrain even when |D| ~ 0?

Thanks!
Stefan Stoll
EasySpin Creator

Re: Dstrain relation to D

Post by Stefan Stoll »

If your values for DStrain are this large compared to D, I suggest to use an explicit loop over your own distribution of D value, simulate the spectrum for each of them, and sum the results using the weights from your distribution. The problem with DStrain is that it is only a first-order approximation that breaks down if the broadening is on the order of D.
thanasis
Local Expert

Post by thanasis »

Dear Stefan,

Thanks for the pointer. In the past, I had used such an approach to fit a non-normal g-strain. However, I don't know whether my approach was optimal. First, I defined a series of systems with differing g(i) and initialised them at a Gaussian weight distribution:

Code: Select all

for i=1:n
    gxy(i)= gxymin+(i-1)*((gxymax-gxymin)/(n-1));
    Sys(i).S=1/2;
    Sys(i).g=[gxy(i) gz];
    p1(i) = -0.5*(gxy(i)-gxyav)/s;
    p2 = (s*sqrt(2*pi));