Why I can not get the plot when use levelsplot?

General forum for EasySpin: questions, how to's, etc.
Post Reply
sapphire
User
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:52 pm

Why I can not get the plot when use levelsplot?

Post by sapphire »

I want to use levelsplot to see the different energy levels of ZFS (zero field splitting), for example, Fe3+ (s=5/2, I=0, g=2.0029, D=5515.5MHz,a-F=1088.1MHz,||a||=760.5MHz (i do not know how to type this parameter)), when I type the follow code, it displsys "Invalid Field name 'a-F' ", the right plot I want to get is as attachment, can someone help me? By the way, can I find the system's parameters in MATLAB?Thank you in advance.

mySystem = struct('S',5/2,'g',2.0029,'D',5515.5, 'a-F', 1088.1,'a', 760.5);
Ori = [0 0]; FieldRange = [0 500]; levelsplot(mySystem,Ori,FieldRange)

Error using struct
Invalid field name "a-F"
Attachments
right ZFS splitting_Fe3+.png
right ZFS splitting_Fe3+.png (30.6 KiB) Viewed 1463 times
Stefan Stoll
EasySpin Creator
Posts: 1050
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:11 pm
Location: University of Washington

Re: Why I can not get the plot when use levelsplot?

Post by Stefan Stoll »

The field is Sys.aF.
sapphire
User
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:52 pm

Re: Why I can not get the plot when use levelsplot?

Post by sapphire »

Thank you very much! I tried again, but it seems I still could not get the result I want. The bottom two splitting (see attachment) is different from on the picture I uploaded before. Could you tell me where is the problem? Please. By the way, how can I mark the eigenstate for each level, like |1/2>,|3/2>…

Here are the new codes
mySystem = struct('S',5/2,'g',2.0029,'D',5515.5); mySystem.aF= [760.5 -327.6];
Ori = [0 0]; FieldRange = [0 500]; Freq=12.05; levelsplot(mySystem,Ori,FieldRange,Freq)

And when I modified the FieldRange as= [0 100 500], the lines represent for permission and forbidden transition could not display properly. How can I modify it? Thank you.
Attachments
fig2.png
fig2.png (17.64 KiB) Viewed 1447 times
Stefan Stoll
EasySpin Creator
Posts: 1050
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:11 pm
Location: University of Washington

Re: Why I can not get the plot when use levelsplot?

Post by Stefan Stoll »

In EasySpin, you can't enter a-F (difference between a and F), but a and F separately in Sys.aF. Check the documentation on how these parameters are defined in EasySpin.

To calculate the eigenstates, use sham().

If you set the field range to [0 100 500], then the energy level diagram will only be calculated at these three field values and will be very coarse. Use [0 500] to get a finer grid, or use your own grid, for example 0:2:500.
Post Reply